The 2023 Clara Johnson Award

Groundbreaking. Purposeful. Bold. Excellent. Challenging to social constructs. Jane’s Stories Press Foundation announces that nominations are open for the 2023 Clara Johnson Award for Women’s Literature. This award will be given to a woman author whose book, published in 2022, bears many attributes of the award’s namesake. The winner will be awarded $1000. The ceremony…

2022 Clara Johnson Award Ceremony

Click to watch JSPF’s President Susan Winstead and Vice President Teri Lavelle talk with author Diane Wilson about her amazing, award-winning book, The Seed Keeper. The book is available at brick-and-mortar and online bookstores, and directly from the publisher at

2022 Clara Johnson Award Winner: Diane Wilson

Jane’s Stories Press Foundation is very excited to announce Diane Wilson as the winner ofthe 2022 Clara Johnson Award for Women’s Literature for her seminal novel: The Seed Keeper.Wilson’s novel is groundbreaking in its ability to weave a braid about one Native American woman’s journey to understand herself, and her family’s legacy through the preservation…

Celebrate Past Clara Johnson Award Winners

The Clara Johnson Award for Women’s Literature has been awarded annually since 2018. Nominations for the 2022 award open March 8; instructions and the nomination form will be posted then. Here are the previous winners. Sue William Silverman is the author of How to Survive Death and Other Inconveniences and the 2021 winner. See Sue’s…

2021 Clara Johnson Award Winner: Sue William Silverman

Congratulations to Sue William Silverman, author of How to Survive Death and Other Inconveniences. She is the 2021 winner of the Clara Johnson Award for Women’s Literature. See Sue’s interview on the Jane’s Stories Press Foundation YouTube channel.

Follow My Blog

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.